Faculty Honored for Teaching with 2017 Emerson Award

The Emerson “Excellence in Teaching” Awards have recognized outstanding educators in the St. Louis metropolitan area for 28 years. The awards, sponsored by Emerson Electric Co., honor over 100 educators annually from all levels of teaching – kindergarten teachers to college professors. Honorees are selected for this award by chief administrators of their school districts or institutions. This year, six faculty members at Washington University were selected by their schools and The Teaching Center to receive the Emerson Award in recognition of their excellence in educational practices. “Excellence in Teaching” award recipients were honored at the Ritz Carlton in Clayton on November 12, 2017.

Congratulations to the 2017 honorees:

Nominated by the Dean of Arts & Sciences:

William E. Wallace
Barbara Murphy Bryant Distinguished Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies, Department of Art History and Archaeology

Nominated by the Dean of Olin School of Business:

Jared Jennings
Assistant Professor of Accounting

Nominated by the Dean of the Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Art:

Cheryl Wassenaar
Associate Professor of Art

Nominated by the Dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science:

J. Mark Meacham
Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science

Nominated by The Teaching Center:

Julia M. Bugg
Associate Professor of Psychological & Brain Sciences

Steven D. Taff
Associate Professor of Occupational Therapy and Medicine

See a list of all Washington University Emerson honorees.