Teaching Awards


Partial list of teaching awards won by our outstanding professors

Have questions?

Contact me today!

Michael Wysession, PhD

Executive Director

The Washington University faculty is known for excellence in teaching. Learn about the teaching awards conferred by our university and its schools.


Emerson Excellence in Teaching Award

Recognizes instructors for their leadership in and passion for teaching, their contributions to student learning, and their knowledge and creativity.

Arts & Sciences

David Hadas Teaching Award

David Hadas Teaching Award honors and publicly recognizes an outstanding tenured faculty member in Arts & Sciences who demonstrates commitment and excellence in teaching first-year undergraduate students.

Excellence in Teaching Award

The Excellence in Teaching Award, formerly known as the Distinguished Teaching Award, was established to honor and publicly recognize an outstanding faculty member in Arts & Sciences for exceptional teaching

Olin Business School

Reid Teaching Awards

This award winner is selected by undergraduate students annually.

McKelvey School of Engineering

Outstanding Teaching Award & Dean’s Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching

Each year the McKelvey School of Engineering and departments honor and recognize our outstanding faculty for their contributions to academic excellence, teaching, innovation and service.

Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts

Faculty Teaching Development Award

This award recognizes stellar contributions in teaching, to support innovation, and incentivizes activities that further enrich the School through student instruction.

School of Medicine

Exemplary Educator Award

Recognizes a faculty member who is actively building a legacy as an educator through contributions in one or more domains of education and mentorship.

Honor Roll Award

The Honor Roll Award, established in 2021 by the Academy of Educators, recognizes current Washington University faculty members making outstanding contributions to education.

Lifetime Achievement Award

The awards were established in 2021 by the Academy of Educators to honor a faculty member who has shown a lifelong commitment to education and demonstrates excellence in one or more domains of educational service, leadership, or scholarship.

Rising Star Award

The Rising Star Award, established in 2021 by the Academy of Educators, recognizes a current Washington University faculty member within ten years of completing their training program who shows exceptional promise as an educator.

Samuel R. Goldstein Leadership Award in Medical Student Education

This award acknowledges faculty leadership in medical student education, as well as the tradition and responsibility our teaching faculty demonstrate in training the best and brightest medical students to become physicians.